Skip to main content

NIH Pain Research Center Staff

The following people work at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Pain Research Center (PRC), the Clinical Investigations Branch (CIB) in the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) Division of Intramural Research (DIR), and/or the Section on Affective Neuroscience and Pain (SANP) in the NCCIH DIR.


David Shurtleff, Ph.D., Acting Chief, CIB; Acting Director, PRC

Miroslav “Misha” Bačkonja, M.D., Supervisory Physician, Acting Clinical Director, CIB, PRC  

Linda Ellison-Dejewski, N.P., Deputy Clinician, CIB, PRC, SANP

Bisi Ayodele, N.P., C.R.N.P., Nurse Practitioner, CIB, PRC, SANP

Zahid Noor, Ph.D., Protocol Navigator, CIB, PRC, SANP

Hayley Owens, Clinical Research Coordinator and Sensory Testing Technician, CIB, PRC, SANP

Binquan Wang, Ph.D., Senior Data Scientist, PRC

Nicholas Madian, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow, PRC

Alexander Chesler, Ph.D., Senior Investigator, Chief, Section on Sensory Cells and Circuits, PRC

Lauren Atlas, Ph.D., Tenure-Track Clinical Investigator, Chief, SANP, PRC

Qingbao Yu, Ph.D., Senior Magnetic Resonance Imaging Data Analyst, SANP

Eleni Frangos, Ph.D., Research Fellow, Lead Scientific Officer, PRC 


Eleanor Goulden, Postbaccalaureate (Postbac) Fellow, PRC

Nwamaka Ijeh, Postbac Fellow, PRC

Brendan Johns, Postbac Fellow, PRC

Nicholas Madian, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow, PRC

Haley Prakke, Postbac Fellow, PRC

Michelle Singh, Postbac Fellow, PRC


Titilola Akintola, Ph.D., Visiting Fellow, SANP

Sabrina Barhoum, Postbac Fellow, SANP 

Maya Delity, Postbac Fellow, SANP 

Troy Dildine, Predoctoral Fellow, SANP

Julie Parsons, Postbac Fellow, SANP 

Julio Yanes, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow, SANP


Contact Us

We look forward to hearing from you. Please complete and submit the online form.

If you are a patient and would like more information about complementary and integrative therapies for pain, please contact the NCCIH Information Clearinghouse. To participate (as a patient or healthy volunteer) in NIH clinical trials on pain, please call 301-594-5731 or visit